Closing in On 2,000 Blog Posts

typewriterHow can it be that in a few days I will have posted 2,000 posts on this online news blog? It doesn’t seem possible. I began not having the slightest idea how to do this about three years ago but I’ve learned a lot, but still get stymied a lot. I haven’t thrown anything out the window yet (good!) and for 99.99 percent of the time I love what I’m doing. Aren’t I lucky?

Thank you to all of you who have given me inspiration or who have give me support. I appreciate both so much.

I am fortunate to have so many old newspapers, many were mine when I had my newspaper up here for years, other people have given me newspapers. I consider them worth their weight in gold because our mountain history, especially in the Running Springs, Arrowbear and Green Valley Lake areas rests in those papers. I love pulling stories from them and it is the number one thing people want more of because none of us really know what our communities were really like until we moved into them. Old newspaper stories and books are a vital connection between what came before us and what we know now.

I thank all of you who continue to inspire me and who support what I’m doing. It is a difficult job at times for many different reasons but I am so fortunate to love writing. I honestly don’t know what I would do without it, so thank you again for your support. My focus has changed  through the time I’ve had this blog and I’m getting older so there are things I am learning to forgive myself for missing. I cannot do everything and this is a “one woman show.”

By the way, this Olympia typewriter was (give or take several years) similar to the manual typewriter I learned to use in high school so many years ago. I continue to thank those typing teachers who taught me so well. I’m a fast typist, which is good because I can’t count beyond my 10 fingers and toes. Math and I have a mutual “hate” relationship. But write, oh thank you God for that skill, otherwise I don’t know what I would be doing!

Again, my thanks!

 

One thought on “Closing in On 2,000 Blog Posts

  1. Randy Ballinger

    Hi Joan,
    I wonder if you have the article on when we, Arrowbear Firefighters, built our own fire engine back around 1989 or 1990.
    Money was hard to find and the District couldn`t afford to buy one so we built one out of a old crane truck from Snow Valley.
    We also built a water tender from one of the old sewer trucks that the Water District had.
    That was something few departments ever had to do.
    We were proud of what we accomplished, back then.

Leave a Reply

