A G.I. Family’s Prayer

All gave some, some gave all!

Many years ago when our troops pushed into Afghanistan (for the first time) I was at our family’s beach house. Like millions of Americans, I needed some sort of solace and I turned on the television to find something .

I turned the channel and stopped on a program that I probably would have by-passed had I not been in need of some sort of spiritual guidance. I stopped when I came to Dr. Robert Schuller who was hosting a special program with the recent announcement that our troops were going to war in the Middle East. During the program, which is one I customarily had not watched but did that day, he recited a beautiful prayer that he had written. I was so taken by the beautiful thoughts that I sent him a letter and asked if he could send me the poem and if it would be alright if I printed it in what was then my Running Springs-based newspaper. He was happy to send the poem to me, so ,as we are still entrenched in a war in the Middle East, I wanted to send this poem along to so many of you who have loved ones in other countries at war, far, far away.

A G.I. FAMILY’S PRAYER

Hear, Lord, my prayer for my G.I.

So eager to live….too young to die.

Beneath an alien blistering sun

They face a dangerous enemy gun.

The storm clouds gather; the horror of war,

My soldier stands bravely guarding the door.

Defending justice, peace and freedom,

Of their commander-in-chief give Holy wisdom.

From war’s alarms, bring swift release,

Hasten the day of honorable peace.

On land and sand and sea and air,

I back my soldier with this prayer.

No matter how far he or she is forced to roam,

Just bring, I pray, my G.I. home.

Amen

Leave a Reply

