Thanking Our Vets: Tuskegee Airmen and All Vets

flagI was just about to jump into bed when I saw a short report  TV about the Tuskegee Airmen who were  holding a big event. What brave soldiers they were back in World War II. Back then, these brave black men were segregated into their “own” corps where all their skin colors were various shades of dark.

I’m challenging everyone who reads this to do what I do. Every time I see a man or woman wearing a jacket, a service pin or a cap with their service insignia on it I walk up to them and thank them. For the most part, they’re very surprised but also grateful as we owe them so much, especially those who have served in combat zones. I will never forget a few years ago when I was standing in a long line at a bank in East Highland. As I waited in line I saw that the man standing in front of me had a military cap on that he earned as a member of the Tuskegee Airmen.

I think I startled him when I asked to shake his hand because he was with this very special “all negro” group of airmen who were segregated during that unbelievably horrible war that engulfed so much of the world. I thanked him profusely and then other people in line began thanking him and they began to applaud. He was, to put it mildly, really surprised and I like to think that the simple gesture I made, that rippled through the others standing in line, gave him some sense of our appreciation for him and the other men he served with.

The next time you see a man or woman wearing their uniform or their service cap, take just a minute or two and thank them. They will be very surprised but grateful. That simple gesture, out of the blue that is unplanned, must mean a lot to those who have served, whether they were drafted or enlisted.

Go ahead…………………make their day! They deserve all the great “thank you’s” they can possibly receive! They aren’t the only ones who will walk away after that small gesture…..your heart will be lighter knowing you really did make someone’s day!

 

Leave a Reply

