when John Denver “Wowed” all of us at Snow Valley

For those of us who were lucky enough to see John Denver perform at Snow Valley in 1990 we could almost be a “club” because it was a performance they (and I) have never forgotten.

You could have heard a pin dropped because everyone there on July 13, I’m sure, sill remembers that enchanting night. To say it was spectacular doesn’t even begin to explain the unbelievable performance we saw. Everyone sat on the ski slopes with their blankets and sweaters. When the sun went down naturally it got chilly but oh my, it was an event that I’ve never forgotten and I’m sure everyone else felt the same way. Bundled up in sweaters and blankets, it was an incredible evening. Since I owned (and started) The Alpenhorn newspaper I was so lucky to have close seating but there wasn’t a bad seat as most people took  blankets to help keep off the chill evening.

When he sang you truly could have heard a pin drop. The several hundred people who sat on the ski slopes or had seating close to the stage loved every single second. John Denver’s UNUSUAL ‘alllll-righttttt” became the rallying phrase of the evening and I came home wondering who said the slogan more, the famous entertainer or the hundreds and hundreds of people sitting on the slopes of Snow Valley.

That evening was truly a memory to remember forever. I was so lucky to be able to shake his hand after the performance as I was  the original owner of The Alpenhorn newspaper. What a performance. What a guy! Although he passed away several years ago I will always remember (and I’m sure I have lots of company in this) of the night, under the stars, John Denver played at Snow Valley. It was absolutely magic!

One thought on “when John Denver “Wowed” all of us at Snow Valley

  1. Donald Nagy

    This was a great event you wrote about before.

    Thank you.

    Don”=_

    949 258 3451

    Your Fortune Cookie – You will step on the soil of many countries. abcde 17-05-08-01

    On Mon, May 8, 2017 at 4:34 PM, Joan Moseley’s Mountain Top Echoes wrote:

    > Joan Moseley posted: “For those of us who were lucky enough to see John > Denver perform at Snow Valley in 1990 we could almost be a “club” because > it was a performance they (and I) have never forgotten. You could have > heard a pin dropped because everyone there on July 13, I’m ” >

Leave a Reply

